162– Love and Other Drugs

Standard

It was Valentine’s yesterday. I didn’t remember until I woke up to find my sister in a long white T-shirt with two big hearts printed on it and a necklace that says her name; a valentine’s “morning” gift from her boyfriend. I then headed out because I had a few stuff to get done and throughout the day, once again, I forgot it was Valentine’s to come home to a HUGE red/black box -and by HUGE I mean really really huge- once again, it was for my sister :D
Aside from the also huge teddy that sat on top of the box, it was what’s inside of it that made me feel like a total loser for a day haha. Not that I celebrate Valentine’s, not in a million years, but wow, the entire crowd I was out with all day did not have an idea too that it was the 14th already, tells you much hah?!
Well, maybe it’s been just that long since I’ve connected to anyone on a higher level.

Today I woke up with an ache to watch something mushy and cute to get in touch with the very feminine creature- I forgot existed within me lately, and my bestfriend has been pushing me to watch Love and Other Drugs for more than 3 days now, so I gave it a try. At first, I was nuseated by all the sex scenes that did not really add to the plot, but would be enjoyable for a few friends I know, not our point, so yeah, I didn’t really get engrossed into the movie until there was no twist, until the movie proved to be just the same as all the other romcom-s released lately, I challenged myself to find what’s behind this movie, why did my best friend push me that badly to watch it aside from how handsome Jake Gyllenhaal is.
She has Parkinson’s, he has intimacy issues, he tried his best to find her a cure, be there for her, she thought he was doing this to save himself the pain he’d have to go through later on if they stay in a relationship. Sweet November much?

The writer who tried typically to send the character out in a self-discovery journey in the pursuit of getting either her or his normal life back wrapped the whole movie in a typical boy-meets-girl, boy-loves-girl, girl-rejects-boy, boy-gets-girl, girl-leaves-boy and BAM boy-apologizes to-girl and girl-falls in arms of-boy. Aside from the attempted melodrama, the script could have been built way better.

Yet there were a few scenes, where you could almost jump into the scenario as if you were a third character, or as if it was all happening in real life to your friends.. or to you.

By the end of the day, it was quite a simple movie, telling you about cherishing the moment, about taking the courage to love, and having the will to let it out. It tells you that fairytales do happen in the most twisted ways ever that’s why we stopped believing they can actually happen, the truth is we just stopped noticing they do. You find yourself suddenly taken to the obvious yet faded conclusion: by the end of the day, it really really does come down to one person; one in the many billions.

So Mona Bassel, thank you, for reminding me that I used to believe in fairytales too. And that we all deserve to end up with our own. Even if you didn’t mean to, maybe you need to remember that for your own :)

Jamie Randall (Jake Gyllenhaal): Sometimes the things you want the most don’t happen and what you least expect happens. I don’t know – you meet thousands of people and none of them really touch you. And then you meet that one person and your life is changed.

One thought on “162– Love and Other Drugs

Leave a Reply

