159

Standard

Look me in the eye, its ok if you’re scared. So am I. But we’re scared for different reasons. I’m scared of what I won’t become and you’re scared of what I could become. Look at me. I won’t let myself end where I started. I wont let myself finish where I began. I know what is within me even if you can’t see it yet. Look me in the eyes. I have something more important than courage. I have patience. I will become what I know I am.

Never, in my past 19 years, have I been so proud to be an Egyptian citizen.
To have the privilage and honour of being born in the land where making history is the norm, was a blessing that along the years we – the young of the country – never had to enjoy or encounter.

Over the past few weeks, I’ve experienced a rush of unnamed, never experienced before emotions. I’ve come to meet the Egyptian Nesma and the Nesma who really wants to make a difference. I’ve learnt that nothing will ever silence the power and will a revolting heart carries. I’ve learnt that faith creates victory and victory keeps faith. I’ve learnt about myself, my country and my people.

I never wanted to leave the country, unlike some others- who have an utter right, I never wanted to leave Egypt and live somewhere else when I grow old. I wanted to stay and help this land with whatever that I’ve got, only to know now, that I will not be the only one, I will do more than I thought was possible and dreaming of a breathtaking civilized Egypt has always been my right.

I apologize to my parents, specially my mum, for joining the protests on the 8th of February 2011, and I apologize to the rest of the nation that it was the only day I went out. But it’s been hard slipping from the high guard my mum had raised during the revolution. I’ve learnt that my country will always come first though.

And this goes to my kids, if you ever read that, and if you ever have to choose between me and your country, choose your country and remind me of the 8th of February 2011, because that was the day I promised myself I won’t ever put you in a choosing shoe, that was the day I met a new side of myself.

Today, Egypt is happy. Tomorrw, Egypt is great :)

خليكى فرحانة يا بلد :)

Leave a Reply

